Loading Events

Events

Author Visit & Reading Fun

September 26, 3:30 pm4:30 pm.
Free
holding-on-9781534494459_hr

Illustrator Isabel Roxas and author Sophie N. Lee are very excited to present their latest book Holding On.

A young girl in the Philippines uses music to connect with her grandmother as her memory fades in this warm and moving picture book perfect for fans of Pixar’s Coco. There is always singing in Lola’s house. Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning, Dean Martin in the afternoon, and all throughout the evening, old Tagalog love songs from Nora Aunor, Basil Valdez, and more. Lola always says: “If you want to hold on, you gotta sing your songs.” Her granddaughter tucks these sounds and Lola’s wisdom deep within her heart. And when Lola starts slipping into silence and stillness, she helps Lola hold on, piece by piece, with the joy and music that Lola taught her.

Come learn about the book and maybe do an activity too!

Location:

560 New York Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11225 United States

More from Around NYC